NASA to provide flyby coverage of near-Earth asteroid - Atlanta News, Weather, Traffic, and Sports | FOX 5

NASA to provide flyby coverage of near-Earth asteroid

Posted: Updated:
Photo Courtesy of NASA Photo Courtesy of NASA
ATLANTA -

An asteroid will flyby Earth on February 15, and you can watch the event courtesy of NASA. It starts at 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST).

There is no need to worry about a collision. NASA says it will be a close, but safe flyby of Asteroid 2012 DA14.

Commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

In addition to the commentary, near real-time imagery of the asteroid's flyby before and after closest approach, made available to NASA by astronomers in Australia and Europe, weather permitting, will be streamed beginning at about 9 a.m. PST (noon EST) and continuing through the afternoon at the following website: http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

A Ustream feed of the flyby from a telescope at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., will be streamed for three hours starting at 6 p.m. PST (8 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. EST). To view the feed and ask researchers questions about the flyby via Twitter, visit: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasa-msfc

Information courtesy of NASA

Powered by WorldNow

1551 Briarcliff Rd., NE
Atlanta, GA 30306

Main Number: (404) 875-5555
News Tips: (404) 898-0100

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices