Cobb County opens more early voting sites - Atlanta News, Weather, Traffic, and Sports | FOX 5

Cobb County opens more early voting sites

Posted: Updated: Oct 30, 2012 05:48 PM
A line of people wait to cast their ballots in Cobb County on Tuesday, October 30, 2012. A line of people wait to cast their ballots in Cobb County on Tuesday, October 30, 2012.

With the election a week away, more than a million people have now cast early votes in Georgia. The number of early voting sites expanded this week in Cobb County.

A line of people stretched along Roswell Road at the East Cobb Government Services Center at 5 p.m. on Tuesday.  That site and most other early voting locations are open until 6:30 Cobb.

 With a cold wind blowing voters cast ballots one week before Election Day. U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson and his wife, Diane, waited with others for about an hour to vote in east Cobb on Tuesday.

"They've got a lot of good volunteers working the polls. The line moved well and they had sample ballots for people to read before they went in and they had enough voting machines for everybody coming in, so it worked out fine," said Isakson.

It's one of nine locations in addition to the main election office where Cobb voters can cast ballots this week.

"You have to wait but it only happens once in four years so it's not a big deal," said Pat Napolitano.

Government offices opened for early voting include the Cobb Civic Center and the West Park Government Center on Whitlock Avenue.

"It wasn't very long. I think I waited about a half-hour before we got inside and it was a pleasant experience," said Vic Theobalds.

On Election Day next Tuesday, 153 Cobb polling places will be open with additional poll workers on duty. Elections Director Janine Eveler says more will be on standby if needed.

"We will have adequate staff. We bring in a lot of temporary help for the advanced voting week because we do have so many locations that we open up. On Election Day, we have between 1,600 and 1,800 poll workers at the various polling places," said Eveler.

According to new figures from the state released on Tuesday, the early voting turnout leaders in Georgia right now are Fulton and DeKalb counties, followed by Cobb and Gwinnett.

The voting locations are:

•    Cobb Elections main office, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
736 Whitlock Ave, Marietta

•    Central: Cobb Civic Center, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
548 S. Marietta Parkway, Marietta

•    East: East Cobb Government Service Center, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
4400 Lower Roswell Road, Marietta

•    Northeast: Noonday Baptist Church, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
4121 Canton Road, Marietta

•    Smyrna: Smyrna Community Center, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
200 Village Green Circle, Smyrna

•    Northwest: NorthStar Church, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
3413 Blue Springs Road NW, Kennesaw

•    West: Ward Recreation Center, Lost Mountain Park, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
4845 Dallas Highway, Powder Springs

•    South: South Cobb Community Center, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
620 Lions Club Drive, Mableton

•    South/Interstate-20: South Cobb Recreation Center, 8:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
875 Six Flags Drive, Austell

Voters can also check wait times at the sites by visiting:

For more information on Cobb Elections, visit

Powered by WorldNow

1551 Briarcliff Rd., NE
Atlanta, GA 30306

Main Number: (404) 875-5555
News Tips: (404) 898-0100

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices